Fair Housing

Housing discrimination is not only illegal; it contradicts the principles of freedom and opportunity we treasure as Americans. Equal access to opportunities for rental housing and homeownership is the cornerstone of federal housing policy of the nation. Mahoning County, along with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, is committed to ensuring that everyone is treated equally in search of a place to call home. 

The Fair Housing Act (Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968) introduced meaningful federal enforcement mechanisms. It outlaws: Refusal to sell or rent a dwelling to any person because of race, color, disability, religion, sex, familial status, or national origin.


Fair Housing Community Guide

Fair Housing Complaints and Procedures Policy

TTY Hearing Impaired Callers:
Dial 711 and ask your operator to dial 330-740-8799